16 min

The Violence That We Cause Others

16 Min
3 Favorites

Dorothy Zennuriye Juno
Psychotherapist & Meditation Teacher
The first Yama or 'limb' of the Yoga Sutras is ahimsa. It is a Sanskrit word that translates as nonviolence. Here I share four practices to help you embody a life of nonviolence – directed towards yourself, others, and the world. 'Ahimsa' is inclusive of not hurting yourself with negative or critical thoughts or actions and not hurting someone else with your thoughts and intentions, nor with actions or words. For more on each of the five Yamas check out 'The Yamas and Niyamas. Exploring Yoga's Ethical Practice' by Deborah Adele.